Between the Testaments Commentary

The New Testament begins with the Romans ruling Palestine. The throne is occupied by an Idumaean king named Herod. At the end of the Old Testament, the Persian Empire ruled Palestine. The throne of Israel was occupied by a Jewish king named Zerubbabel. The time between the Old Testament and New Testaments is about four hundred (400) years, 445 B.C. to 4 B.C.
These four hundred (400) years can be divided into four (4) groups, known as the Persian Period, the Greek Period, the Maccabean Period, and the Roman Period.

The Pharisees originally came into being during the Maccabean Period, to deepen the Jewish faith. However, they became self-righteous and hypocritical. The Pharisees violently hated Jesus. In Scriptures, They were also known as rulers. The Pharisees were called “separatists” because they separated themselves from the political party in their nation. They were exponents and guardians of the written and oral Law, and in belief, were conservative.